History of the Parish
Early in 1955 the Archdiocese of Los Angeles purchased 10 acres at the corner of Santa Gertrudes and Citrustree. This former lemon orchard would soon be transformed into a vibrant and devoted Catholic parish named after the found of the Carthusian Order, Saint Bruno. Fr. John McCormick was the first pastor and he made arrangements to offer Sunday Mass in the Von's Market citrus warehouse which was located just north of the church property. The first Mass was celebrated on July 7, 1955 with parishioner-built kneelers and old wooden folding chairs serving as pews.
In 2005, Fr. Michael Reardon returned to St. Bruno as the fourth Pastor. This was a fond homecoming as Fr. Michael had previously served the people of St. Bruno as an Associate Pastor from June 1976 until April 1980. In 2013, the Church was furnished with a new Altar, ambo, presider chairs and baptismal font.
Today, St. Bruno has 2900 registered households, a Parish School of 312 students and thriving Religious Education and Youth Ministry that teaches and helps to form young Catholics. The good will and good works of parishioners are evident in more than thirty voluntary ministries and organizations. From its humble beginnings, St. Bruno has always been blessed by Almighty God. Through the unselfish shepherding of our priests and the generosity and support of our people, we have a strong faith community with a proud history. Through these past 58 years glory and praise have been offered to God and His graces have been poured abundantly upon all of us.